Home Your library account Login to Blackboard Contact Us EKU Home
ask us hours
  • Library Resources
Find How do I...? Locations & Collections About Us
 

  • Services for
Students Faculty & Staff Distance & Online Learning Visitors & Alumni
 

Leave a comment Giving to the Library
studio logo
Meet Derek Nikitas
Department of English and Theater
Derek Nikitas
Join us on EKU Libraries Facebook
KYVL
University Archives Researchers' Guide

Materials housed in the University Archives are maintained under controlled environmental conditions and strict security. Of particular importance is the John Wilson Townsend Kentuckiana book collection which contains nearly 25,000 volumes by Kentucky authors or about Kentucky or Kentuckians. Many are autographed first editions. An original collection of 1,700 volumes was purchased in 1930 from Mr. Townsend, a Kentucky man-of-letters, and forms the basis of the current collection. Through the years many genealogical materials of local and regional interest have been added to the Townsend collection.

The University Archives was established in 1976. It contains a wide variety of materials that relate to the history of Eastern Kentucky University including: the official and personal papers of past Eastern presidents; minutes of the Board of Regents and Faculty Senate meetings; a complete set of University catalogs and Milestone yearbooks; faculty publications; files of the Eastern Progress newspaper; student government records; personal papers of faculty members; files from numerous offices and departments; campus photographs dating from 1906; films and videotapes of Eastern athletic events; and memorabilia donated to the university by members of the faculty, staff, and alumni groups.

Finding Guides consist of inventories, collection descriptions, indexes, and lists.  Most inventories have been cataloged in eQuest and are located on shelves at the rear of the Reception Room area. Inventories, many which can be found on the are folder title listings of collections that pertain to historical records of Eastern Kentucky University, personal papers of Eastern faculty and staff members and several Madison County families, and records of regional and statewide organizations such as the Kentucky High School Athletic Association and the Kentucky Academy of Science.  All collection descriptions; indexes; and lists of nearly 3,000 oral history interviews, over 30,000 university photographic negatives, and a substantial film and video collection which have not been cataloged can be accessed through the section's computerized database or the home page.

Microfilm and microfiche holdings consist of items such as the Draper Manuscripts, selected federal census records, a sizeable quantity of Madison County and selected county court records from counties that surround Madison from the 1780s to the 1920s, Kentucky Death Certificates through 1950, and the Eastern Kentucky University student newspaper, Eastern Progress. The microfiche cabinet contains copies of Kentucky Vital statistics, publications copied by the Lost Cause Press, and other items.

Indexes to selected genealogical publications, Family and Local History files, Vertical files, the Oral History Center tape collection, maps, photographs, Eastern publications, Eastern faculty and staff publications, minutes of Eastern academic and administrative meetings, film and videotape collections, postcards [PDF], the Eastern Progress, and memorabilia are available.

Special Collections maintains a collection of genealogical periodicals such as The Genealogical Helper, Kentucky Ancestors, and The Virginia Genealogist and a list of local and regional genealogists who assist in research. Information is also kept on the policies and holdings of state and national genealogical repositories such as the University of Kentucky Special Collections and Archives Department, the Kentucky Library at Western Kentucky University, the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives, the Kentucky Historical Society, the Filson Club, the Library of Congress, and the National Archives.  Links have been created on the section's home page to many of these institutions.

II. Examples of Bibliographic and Footnote Citation Formats According to The Chicago Manual of Style, 14th edition.

Bibliographies
  • Books:

    Dorris, Jonathan T. (ed.). Five Decades of Progress: Eastern Kentucky State College, 1906-1956. Richmond, Ky.: State College Press, 1957.

  • Periodicals and Pamphlets:

    Engle, Fred A., Jr. "Central University of Richmond Kentucky." Register of the Kentucky Historical Society 68 (1968): 279-304.

    Moore, G. Mansfield. "What the Students Think of Liquor in Richmond." E.K.S.N. Student, vol. 4, no. 6 (February 1911): 5-6.

  • Newspapers:

    The Eastern Progress, 1991, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.

  • Manuscripts:

    President's Office, Herman Lee Donovan Papers, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.

  • Theses and Dissertations:

    Fields, Jennifer S. "Self-division in the Victorian Novel." M.A. thesis, Eastern Kentucky University Library, 1978.

  • Minutes of Meetings:

    Board of Regents Minutes, Eastern Kentucky University, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.

    Faculty Senate Minutes, Eastern Kentucky University, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.

  • Photographs:

    Bybee Pottery Collection. Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.

  • Oral History Tapes:

    Robert R. Martin Oral History Project, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.
Footnotes

  • Books:

    Jonathan T. Dorris (ed.), Five Decades of Progress: Eastern Kentucky State College, 1906-1956 (Richmond, Ky.: State College Press, 1957), 17-18.

  • Periodicals and Pamphlets:

    Fred A. Engle, Jr., "Central University of Richmond Kentucky," Register of the Kentucky Historical Society 68 (1968): 283-85.

    G. Mansfield Moore, "What Students Think of Liquor in Richmond," E.K.S.N. Student 4 (February, 1911): 6.

  • Newspapers:

    The Eastern Progress, vol. 70, no. 5, September 19, 1991, 3.

  • Manuscripts:

    H. L.. Donovan to R. A.. Edwards, May 24, 1928, Training School -- General -- 1926-1935, President's Office, Herman Lee Donovan Papers, Box 113, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.

  • Theses & Dissertations:

    Jennifer S. Fields, "Self-division in the Victorian Novel" (M.A. thesis, Eastern Kentucky University Library, 1978), 33-35.

  • Minutes of Meetings:

    Board of Regents Minutes, Eastern Kentucky University, vol. 29, March 21, 1973, 21-25, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.

    Faculty Senate Minutes, Eastern Kentucky University, September 9, 1991, 2, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.

  • Photographs:

    Bybee Pottery Photograph Collection, Box 2, Folder 1, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.

  • Oral History Tapes:

    Taped interview by Barry Peel with A.B. "Happy" Chandler, November 29, 1976, Robert R. Martin Oral History Project, 76OH8, Eastern Kentucky University Library, Special Collections and Archives.