Home Your library account Contact Us EKU Home
Ask Us Hours

Databases @ EKU Libraries

Databases by: TITLE | SUBJECT | TYPE

 
Displaying resources for subject: Biology
Academic Search Premier
A broad, expansive database including full text coverage of nearly every area of academic study.
+ show more info
AGRICOLA
Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture; contains citations to journal articles, books, reports, theses
+ show more info
Alt-Press Watch
Full text coverage of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press
+ show more info
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AH Search)
Citation index in the arts and humanities; search by keyword or cited author/cited reference
+ show more info
ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources
Abstracts in biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues
+ show more info
ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources
Abstracts in oceanography; Includes international policy and legislation, meteorology and climatology, and technology and engineering
+ show more info
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality
Abstracts covering research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries
+ show more info
Biology Digest (BioDigest)
Provides detailed abstracts of biology, ecology, and health related information, written in a nontechnical style for students and interested nonscientists.
+ show more info
BioOne
Collection of high impact bioscience research journals in electronic format.
+ show more info
BioOne Abstracts & Indexes Database
Developed by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts; allows BioOne subscribers to use CSA's thesaurus searching.
+ show more info
Birds of North America
Provides scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada, with image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, recordings of bird’s songs and calls selected from the collection in Cornell’s Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds. Includes also an extensive bibliography for each species.
+ show more info
CABI Online
Applied life sciences abstracts, covering the areas of Agriculture, Animal and Veterinary Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Human Health, Leisure and Tourism, Microbiology and Parasitology, Nutrition, and Plant Sciences. Includes the online versions of CAB Abstracts and Nutrition Abstracts (Global Health).
+ show more info
CSA Illumina
Abstract and full text databases in a variety of fields.
+ show more info
EBSCO Animals
Topics relating to animals; indexing, abstracts and full text describing nature and habitat of animals; equivalent to print Encyclopedia of Animals
+ show more info
EBSCOhost Web
Group of multi-disciplinary and subject databases covering all subject areas.
+ show more info
General Science Index
Citation index in the sciences; covers a broad range of fields in general interest periodicals and specialized journals as well
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Helminthological Abstracts (See "CABI Online")
Available online through "CABI Online". Covers taxonomy, biology, pathology, immunology, diagnosis, epidemiology, treatment and control of all helminths (Monogenea, Aspidogastrea, Digenea, Cestoda, Acanthocephala, Nematoda) parasitic in man and domestic and wild animals.
+ show more info
Informaworld
Search a collection of journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge covering the sciences, technology, social science, and humanities fields.
+ show more info
Access Note: Some full text available. Request all other articles through ILLIAD.
Ingenta
Indexing and search alert service for more than 20,000 periodicals. Includes some full text.
+ show more info
JSTOR
Full-text articles for journals covering a broad range of subjects in Arts & Sciences including many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science and sociology, ecology, mathematics and statistics, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, law, psychology, public policy and administration, business, and education
+ show more info
Life Sciences Collection : JSTOR
The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences. Includes the Biological Sciences Collection and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
+ show more info
MasterFile Premier
Index to periodical articles on subjects including general reference, business, health; includes Magill's Book Reviews, CIA World Factbook, Essential Documents in American History, journals, magazines, and newspapers
+ show more info
NetLibrary
A collection of electronic books covering numerous subject disciplines.
Important tips and information about NetLibrary can be found here.
+ show more info
Access Note: Each ebook in NetLibrary has a limit of 1 user at a time.
New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
The New York Times (1851-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
+ show more info
Newsbank
Access World News contains the full-text content of over 700 local and regional newspapers. Also included is an electronic image edition of the New York Times. This is an exact digital reproduction of the print editions, with keyword searching and ability to browse the full publication.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access World News is available both on-campus and off-campus. The electronic image editions are NOT accessible off-campus.
Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes access to the Oxford Companions Series.
+ show more info
ProQuest Newspapers
National Newspapers Core is a single source for coverage of the nation's leading newspapers. National Newspapers Core includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Researchers can find the information they need quickly because of the database's detailed indexing.
+ show more info
Science Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in 3,700 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals.
+ show more info
ScienceDirect
Full text collection of online science and social science journals.
+ show more info
Web of Knowledge
Simultaneously searches 5 databases: CAB Abstracts, Medline, Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Zoological Record.
+ show more info
Wiley InterScience
Full text journal collection.
+ show more info
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide
+ show more info
WorldCat.org
Freely available website that includes records for the holdings (databases, books, journals, sound recordings, videos, etc.) of libraries worldwide.
+ show more info
Zoological Record
Index to books and journals in Zoology
+ show more info
 

Looking for something else?  To find an individual eJournal title, search our eJournal list. For print indexes, books, CDs, and other non-online resources, search our catalog.

 

Admin