Databases @ EKU Libraries
Databases by: TITLE | SUBJECT | TYPE
Displaying resources for subject:
Education Academic Search Premier
A broad, expansive database including full text coverage of nearly every area of academic study.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Aviation,
Biology,
Chemistry,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Technology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Alt-Press Watch
Full text coverage of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
Provides more than 250,000 reviews of children’s books, multimedia, audio books, etc. from 34 sources including The ALAN Review, Booklist, The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, CCBC Choices, The Five Owls, The Horn Book Magazine--Audio Reviews, The Horn Book Guide, Inis, KIRKUS Reviews, KLIATT, Library Media Connections, Resource Links and VOYA. National, state and international awards back to the first Newbery in 1922 and more than 60 best books lists, plus all state reading lists are included and updated annually. Curriculum Tools are also part of the database.
+ show more info
Choice Reviews Online
Premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and internet resources of interest to those in higher education
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 4 simultaneous users. Dissertations & Theses Full Text
Includes 2.4 million dissertation and thesis citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database, added to EKU Library's collection in December 2008, offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
+ show more info
EBSCO Animals
Topics relating to animals; indexing, abstracts and full text describing nature and habitat of animals; equivalent to print Encyclopedia of Animals
+ show more info
Education Full Text
Includes comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Contains abstracting and indexing coverage for over 475 periodicals included in Education Index as well as the full text of over 150 periodicals.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 20 simultaneous users – please logoff when through with session. Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
This database includes the full text of 36 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 52,900 articles and up to 90 years of backfiles; covers such subjects as Adult and Continuing Education, Assessment, Multilingual Education, Content Areas, Curriculum, Early Childhood Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Educational Psychology, Elementary and Primary Education, Family and Community, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Middle School Education, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Philosophy of Education, Professional Development, Research Methods and Evaluation, School Counseling, School Finance and Budgeting, School Funding, School Health, School Law, School Reform, Special Education and Gifted Education, Standards, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods, Technology, Theory of Education, and Vocational Education.
+ show more info
Educational Administration Abstracts
Educational Administration Abstracts includes over 60,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
+ show more info
Effective Schools Research Link
Contains 1,500 research abstracts on topics ranging from strategies that work in the classroom to what works at the district level, and everything in between. An additional 72 abstracts are added each year. Coverage extends back to 1986.
+ show more info
Access Note: Requires login information--ask at the library desk for information. ERIC (CSA)
Index to journal articles & reports in education. NOTE: EBSCOhost Web has links to ERIC Document Reproduction Service Full Text Documents (ED400000- ). Equivalent or Related Print Source: CIJE; RIE (Resources in Education)
+ show more info
ERIC (EBSCOHost Web)
Index to journal articles & reports in education. NOTE: EBSCOhost Web has links to ERIC Document Reproduction Service Full Text Documents (ED400000- ). Equivalent or Related Print Source: CIJE; RIE (Resources in Education)
+ show more info
Grolier Online
Online versions of the "Encyclopedia America", "Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia", and "The New Book of Knowledge". Also includes several dictionaries, a thesaurus, an interactive world atlas, and resources for educators.
+ show more info
Informaworld
Search a collection of journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge covering the sciences, technology, social science, and humanities fields.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Art and Design,
Aviation,
Biology,
Chemistry,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Technology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Access Note: Some full text available. Request all other articles through ILLIAD. InfoSci-OnlineLearning
5,000+ authoritative studies on the state of knowledge and practice on instructional technology, distance learning, and other educational applications of technology.
+ show more info
JSTOR
Full-text articles for journals covering a broad range of subjects in Arts & Sciences including many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science and sociology, ecology, mathematics and statistics, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, law, psychology, public policy and administration, business, and education
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help its users succeed on academic or licensing tests. Includes scoring, complete answer explanations, and individualized analyses of results.
+ show more info
Access Note: In order to take the tests, you must register for a personal account. Simply click on the "Register" button under "New User," and then create a personal login and password that you can remember. If logging in from off campus, you must first use your EKU email login/password when prompted, and then you'll need to login with your LearningExpress personalized login and password. Library Literature & Information Science
Citation index in the library and information sciences; covers English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, and over 300 books per year
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 20 simultaneous users. MAS FullTEXT Ultra School Edition
Magazine article summaries and general index for general interest and current events magazines, and general reference sources; includes Magill's Book Reviews, CIA World Factbook, Essential Documents in American History, news weeklies, New York Times, USA Today; school edition, K-12
+ show more info
MasterFile Premier
Index to periodical articles on subjects including general reference, business, health; includes Magill's Book Reviews, CIA World Factbook, Essential Documents in American History, journals, magazines, and newspapers
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
+ show more info
New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
The New York Times (1851-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Newsbank
Access World News contains the full-text content of over 700 local and regional newspapers. Also included is an electronic image edition of the New York Times. This is an exact digital reproduction of the print editions, with keyword searching and ability to browse the full publication.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Correctional and Juvenile Justice Studies,
Criminal Justice and Police Studies,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Safety Security and Emergency Management,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Access Note: Access World News is available both on-campus and off-campus. The electronic image editions are NOT accessible off-campus. NoveList
Readers' advisory for fiction, and links to other home pages and fiction related web sites; includes reviews and descriptions; reviews from Library Journal, Publisher's Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus from 1996-
+ show more info
Primary Search
Magazine articles, pamphlets and reference sources for elementary schools; includes K-12 magazines, documents of American History database, CIA World Factbook, and other reference sources
+ show more info
ProjectMUSE
Collection of electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Anthropology,
Art and Design,
Communication,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Geography and Geology,
History,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
Music,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
ProQuest Newspapers
National Newspapers Core is a single source for coverage of the nation's leading newspapers. National Newspapers Core includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Researchers can find the information they need quickly because of the database's detailed indexing.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Research Starters - Education
Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts.
+ show more info
Access Note: Trial database from EBSCO - available through June 30, 2009.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Anthropology,
Business,
Education,
Environmental Health Science,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Geography and Geology,
Library and Information Science,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Sociology,
Women and Gender Studies
Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
+ show more info
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Aviation,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Correctional and Juvenile Justice Studies,
Criminal Justice and Police Studies,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Safety Security and Emergency Management,
Technology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
WorldCat.org
Freely available website that includes records for the holdings (databases, books, journals, sound recordings, videos, etc.) of libraries worldwide.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Business,
Chemistry,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Looking for something else? To find an individual eJournal title, search our eJournal list. For print indexes, books, CDs, and other non-online resources, search our catalog.