Home Your library account Contact Us EKU Home
Ask Us Hours

Databases @ EKU Libraries

Databases by: TITLE | SUBJECT | TYPE

 
Displaying resources for subject: English
Academic Search Premier
A broad, expansive database including full text coverage of nearly every area of academic study.
+ show more info
Alt-Press Watch
Full text coverage of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press
+ show more info
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AH Search)
Citation index in the arts and humanities; search by keyword or cited author/cited reference
+ show more info
Carlyle Letters Online
A collection of over 10,000 letters written by Thomas Carlyle and his wife Jane Welsh Carlyle. Browse their correspondence by date, by recipient, and by subject.
+ show more info
Chaucer Bibliography Online
Includes materials from the "Annotated Chaucer Bibliography" published annually in "Studies in the Age of Chaucer;" indexes articles back to 1975.
+ show more info
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
Provides more than 250,000 reviews of children’s books, multimedia, audio books, etc. from 34 sources including The ALAN Review, Booklist, The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, CCBC Choices, The Five Owls, The Horn Book Magazine--Audio Reviews, The Horn Book Guide, Inis, KIRKUS Reviews, KLIATT, Library Media Connections, Resource Links and VOYA. National, state and international awards back to the first Newbery in 1922 and more than 60 best books lists, plus all state reading lists are included and updated annually. Curriculum Tools are also part of the database.
+ show more info
Choice Reviews Online
Premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and internet resources of interest to those in higher education
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus (electronic) is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
+ show more info
EBSCOhost Web
Group of multi-disciplinary and subject databases covering all subject areas.
+ show more info
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Searchable electronic book collection that includes subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides covering many subject disciplines.
+ show more info
Informaworld
Search a collection of journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge covering the sciences, technology, social science, and humanities fields.
+ show more info
Access Note: Some full text available. Request all other articles through ILLIAD.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books.
+ show more info
Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
The Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an online resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse.
+ show more info
JSTOR
Full-text articles for journals covering a broad range of subjects in Arts & Sciences including many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science and sociology, ecology, mathematics and statistics, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, law, psychology, public policy and administration, business, and education
+ show more info
Literature Criticism Online
Includes complete, searchable backfiles for 6 of the Gale “Literature Criticism” book series: Contemporary, 20th Century, 19th Century, Shakespeare, Poetry, and Short Stories.
+ show more info
Literature Resources from Gale
A comprehensive online literary site that includes books, journals, and essays covering biographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users.
MasterFile Premier
Index to periodical articles on subjects including general reference, business, health; includes Magill's Book Reviews, CIA World Factbook, Essential Documents in American History, journals, magazines, and newspapers
+ show more info
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals. Includes editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
+ show more info
MLA International Bibliography
Provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics; annually indexes over 66,000 books and articles. Equivalent to the print MLA International Bibliography
+ show more info
NetLibrary
A collection of electronic books covering numerous subject disciplines.
Important tips and information about NetLibrary can be found here.
+ show more info
Access Note: Each ebook in NetLibrary has a limit of 1 user at a time.
New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
The New York Times (1851-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
+ show more info
Newsbank
Access World News contains the full-text content of over 700 local and regional newspapers. Also included is an electronic image edition of the New York Times. This is an exact digital reproduction of the print editions, with keyword searching and ability to browse the full publication.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access World News is available both on-campus and off-campus. The electronic image editions are NOT accessible off-campus.
NoveList
Readers' advisory for fiction, and links to other home pages and fiction related web sites; includes reviews and descriptions; reviews from Library Journal, Publisher's Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus from 1996-
+ show more info
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers social issues such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, and Terrorism. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, primary source documents, images, and a collection of subject-indexed Web sites.
+ show more info
Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes access to the Oxford Companions Series.
+ show more info
ProjectMUSE
Collection of electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences
+ show more info
ProQuest Newspapers
National Newspapers Core is a single source for coverage of the nation's leading newspapers. National Newspapers Core includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Researchers can find the information they need quickly because of the database's detailed indexing.
+ show more info
Walt Whitman Archive
The Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers. His many notebooks, manuscript fragments, prose essays, letters, and voluminous journalistic articles all offer key cultural and biographical contexts for his poetry. The Archive sets out to incorporate as much of this material as possible, drawing on the resources of libraries and collections from around the United States and around the world.
+ show more info
Women Writers Online
Textbase of the Women Writers Project, Brown University; collection of text covering 1400-1850
+ show more info
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide
+ show more info
WorldCat.org
Freely available website that includes records for the holdings (databases, books, journals, sound recordings, videos, etc.) of libraries worldwide.
+ show more info
 

Looking for something else?  To find an individual eJournal title, search our eJournal list. For print indexes, books, CDs, and other non-online resources, search our catalog.

 

Admin