Databases @ EKU Libraries
Databases by: TITLE | SUBJECT | TYPE
Displaying resources for subject:
History ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
A broad online collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and guides on history, culture, social issues, and other subjects. Formerly called "History Reference Online."
+ show more info
Academic Search Premier
A broad, expansive database including full text coverage of nearly every area of academic study.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Aviation,
Biology,
Chemistry,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Technology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Alt-Press Watch
Full text coverage of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
America: History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles and book reviews in American History
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users – please close window when through with session. Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for libraries that provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique primary resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users. Anthrosource
Searchable database containing more than 250,000 articles from American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters, bulletins, monographs. Contains the complete archives for AAA's 32 publications, including American Anthropologist, Political and Legal Anthropology Review, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, Archeological Papers of the AAA and Visual Anthropology Review.
+ show more info
EBSCOhost Web
Group of multi-disciplinary and subject databases covering all subject areas.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Economics,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Historical Abstracts
Abstracts of journal articles and book reviews in World History
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users – please close window when through with session. Informaworld
Search a collection of journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge covering the sciences, technology, social science, and humanities fields.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Art and Design,
Aviation,
Biology,
Chemistry,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Technology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Access Note: Some full text available. Request all other articles through ILLIAD. Ingenta
Indexing and search alert service for more than 20,000 periodicals. Includes some full text.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Aviation,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Technology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
JSTOR
Full-text articles for journals covering a broad range of subjects in Arts & Sciences including many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science and sociology, ecology, mathematics and statistics, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, law, psychology, public policy and administration, business, and education
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Literature Criticism Online
Includes complete, searchable backfiles for 6 of the Gale “Literature Criticism” book series: Contemporary, 20th Century, 19th Century, Shakespeare, Poetry, and Short Stories.
+ show more info
MasterFile Premier
Index to periodical articles on subjects including general reference, business, health; includes Magill's Book Reviews, CIA World Factbook, Essential Documents in American History, journals, magazines, and newspapers
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
NetLibrary
A collection of electronic books covering numerous subject disciplines.
Important tips and information about NetLibrary can be found here.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Aviation,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Technology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Access Note: Each ebook in NetLibrary has a limit of 1 user at a time. New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
The New York Times (1851-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Newsbank
Access World News contains the full-text content of over 700 local and regional newspapers. Also included is an electronic image edition of the New York Times. This is an exact digital reproduction of the print editions, with keyword searching and ability to browse the full publication.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Correctional and Juvenile Justice Studies,
Criminal Justice and Police Studies,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Safety Security and Emergency Management,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Access Note: Access World News is available both on-campus and off-campus. The electronic image editions are NOT accessible off-campus. Notable Kentucky African Americans Database
The Notable Kentucky African Americans Database (NKAA) has been developed as a finding aid to bring together a brief description of pertinent names, places, and events, and to list the sources where additional information may be found.
+ show more info
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers social issues such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, and Terrorism. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, primary source documents, images, and a collection of subject-indexed Web sites.
+ show more info
Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes access to the Oxford Companions Series.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Reference,
Social Work,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
ProjectMUSE
Collection of electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Anthropology,
Art and Design,
Communication,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Geography and Geology,
History,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
Music,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
ProQuest Newspapers
National Newspapers Core is a single source for coverage of the nation's leading newspapers. National Newspapers Core includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Researchers can find the information they need quickly because of the database's detailed indexing.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Anthropology,
Business,
Education,
Environmental Health Science,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Geography and Geology,
Library and Information Science,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Sociology,
Women and Gender Studies
Web of Knowledge
Simultaneously searches 5 databases: CAB Abstracts, Medline, Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Zoological Record.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Aviation,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Technology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Aviation,
Biology,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Correctional and Juvenile Justice Studies,
Criminal Justice and Police Studies,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Mathematics and Statistics,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Safety Security and Emergency Management,
Technology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
WorldCat.org
Freely available website that includes records for the holdings (databases, books, journals, sound recordings, videos, etc.) of libraries worldwide.
+ show more infoSubjects:
African / African-American Studies,
Agriculture,
Air Force Science,
Anthropology,
Appalachian Studies,
Art and Design,
Biology,
Business,
Chemistry,
Communication,
Computer Science,
Distance Learning,
Economics,
Education,
English,
Environmental Health Science,
Exercise and Sport Science,
Family and Consumer Science,
Foreign Languages and Humanities,
General,
Geography and Geology,
Government and Law,
Health Promotion and Administration,
History,
Military Science,
Music,
Nursing,
Occupational Therapy,
Philosophy and Religion,
Physics and Astronomy,
Psychology,
Recreation and Park Administration,
Social Work,
Sociology,
Theatre,
Women and Gender Studies
Looking for something else? To find an individual eJournal title, search our eJournal list. For print indexes, books, CDs, and other non-online resources, search our catalog.