Home Your library account Contact Us EKU Home
Ask Us Hours

Databases @ EKU Libraries

Databases by: TITLE | SUBJECT | TYPE

 
Displaying resources for subject: Social Work
Academic Search Premier
A broad, expansive database including full text coverage of nearly every area of academic study.
+ show more info
Alt-Press Watch
Full text coverage of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press
+ show more info
Alternative Press Index
Index to journals covering cultural, economic, political and social change; alternative sources of information
+ show more info
Counseling and Therapy in Video
This new online collection of streaming videos (added August 2009) applies to the disciplines of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
+ show more info
Informaworld
Search a collection of journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge covering the sciences, technology, social science, and humanities fields.
+ show more info
Access Note: Some full text available. Request all other articles through ILLIAD.
JSTOR
Full-text articles for journals covering a broad range of subjects in Arts & Sciences including many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science and sociology, ecology, mathematics and statistics, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, law, psychology, public policy and administration, business, and education
+ show more info
NetLibrary
A collection of electronic books covering numerous subject disciplines.
Important tips and information about NetLibrary can be found here.
+ show more info
Access Note: Each ebook in NetLibrary has a limit of 1 user at a time.
New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
The New York Times (1851-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
+ show more info
Newsbank
Access World News contains the full-text content of over 700 local and regional newspapers. Also included is an electronic image edition of the New York Times. This is an exact digital reproduction of the print editions, with keyword searching and ability to browse the full publication.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access World News is available both on-campus and off-campus. The electronic image editions are NOT accessible off-campus.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers social issues such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, and Terrorism. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, primary source documents, images, and a collection of subject-indexed Web sites.
+ show more info
Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes access to the Oxford Companions Series.
+ show more info
Oxford Scholarship Online - Social Work Collection
The award-winning social work eBook collection at Oxford, added January 2009, reflects the wide range of the field and the depth of its growing body of research. Strengths in broad areas of the discipline, such as child welfare and mental health, are supported by a particular focus on research methods and evidence-based practice.
+ show more info
ProjectMUSE
Collection of electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences
+ show more info
ProQuest Newspapers
National Newspapers Core is a single source for coverage of the nation's leading newspapers. National Newspapers Core includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Researchers can find the information they need quickly because of the database's detailed indexing.
+ show more info
PsychiatryOnline
This new database (added August 2009) features the DSM-IV, including the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Casebook, and Treatment Companion. It also includes the full text of journals such as The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, Psychosomatics, and Academic Psychiatry. Finally, it includes a number of additional resources such as textbooks, APA practice guidelines, self-assessment tools for board certification, medication information handouts, and clinical & research news.
+ show more info
Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
+ show more info
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive bibliographic coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals.
+ show more info
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts of journal articles in sociology and related fields
+ show more info
Sociological Collection
Index to specialized collection of journal articles in sociology and culture
+ show more info
Web of Knowledge
Simultaneously searches 5 databases: CAB Abstracts, Medline, Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Zoological Record.
+ show more info
WorldCat.org
Freely available website that includes records for the holdings (databases, books, journals, sound recordings, videos, etc.) of libraries worldwide.
+ show more info
 

Looking for something else?  To find an individual eJournal title, search our eJournal list. For print indexes, books, CDs, and other non-online resources, search our catalog.

 

Admin