Home Your library account Contact Us EKU Home
Ask Us Hours

Databases @ EKU Libraries

1   A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S   T   U   V   W   Z  

Databases by: TITLE | SUBJECT | TYPE

 
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
A broad online collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and guides on history, culture, social issues, and other subjects. Formerly called "History Reference Online."
+ show more info
Academic Search Premier
A broad, expansive database including full text coverage of nearly every area of academic study.
+ show more info
African American Experience
Extensive database of information relating to the African American Experience. Includes material from major multivolume print reference sets, such as The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature, Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States, and African American Religious Experience in America. Also includes hundreds of primary documents: manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other papers, plus over 4,000 interviews with former slaves—the WPA slave narratives—from the The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography.
+ show more info
AGRICOLA
Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture; contains citations to journal articles, books, reports, theses
+ show more info
Alt-Press Watch
Full text coverage of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press
+ show more info
Alternative Press Index
Index to journals covering cultural, economic, political and social change; alternative sources of information
+ show more info
America: History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles and book reviews in American History
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users – please close window when through with session.
American Chemical Society Web Editions
Selected Full Text electronic journals from the American Chemical Society
+ show more info
Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for libraries that provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique primary resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Anthrosource
Searchable database containing more than 250,000 articles from American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters, bulletins, monographs. Contains the complete archives for AAA's 32 publications, including American Anthropologist, Political and Legal Anthropology Review, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, Archeological Papers of the AAA and Visual Anthropology Review.
+ show more info
Applied Science & Technology Index
Citation index in science and technology; covers leading trade and industrial publications, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, plus buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Art Index
Citation index in art; covers an international array of peer-selected publications -- Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AH Search)
Citation index in the arts and humanities; search by keyword or cited author/cited reference
+ show more info
ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources
Abstracts in biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues
+ show more info
ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources
Abstracts in oceanography; Includes international policy and legislation, meteorology and climatology, and technology and engineering
+ show more info
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality
Abstracts covering research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries
+ show more info
Biology Digest (BioDigest)
Provides detailed abstracts of biology, ecology, and health related information, written in a nontechnical style for students and interested nonscientists.
+ show more info
BioOne
Collection of high impact bioscience research journals in electronic format.
+ show more info
BioOne Abstracts & Indexes Database
Developed by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts; allows BioOne subscribers to use CSA's thesaurus searching.
+ show more info
Birds of North America
Provides scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada, with image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, recordings of bird’s songs and calls selected from the collection in Cornell’s Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds. Includes also an extensive bibliography for each species.
+ show more info
Business & Industry (BusIndustry)
Business and industry facts, data, and key events
+ show more info
Business Dateline (BusDateline)
Citations on regional business articles
+ show more info
Business Source Premier
Full text articles from 1300 scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business with SWOT analyses and over 10,000 company profiles.
+ show more info
CABI Online
Applied life sciences abstracts, covering the areas of Agriculture, Animal and Veterinary Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Human Health, Leisure and Tourism, Microbiology and Parasitology, Nutrition, and Plant Sciences. Includes the online versions of CAB Abstracts and Nutrition Abstracts (Global Health).
+ show more info
Career & Technical Education (ProQuest)
An index to vocational and technical education periodicals
+ show more info
Careers Internet Database
Online versions of career reports that cover education requirements, positive and negative aspects of each career, and interviews with people working in the field. Includes an interest assessment test, career news, and lists of best colleges and graduate schools specific to each career.
+ show more info
Carlyle Letters Online
A collection of over 10,000 letters written by Thomas Carlyle and his wife Jane Welsh Carlyle. Browse their correspondence by date, by recipient, and by subject.
+ show more info
CAS Chemical Abstracts Online
Group of chemistry and related databases. Includes Chemical Abstracts Online, Chemical Abstracts Old, Chemical Abstracts Registry, and selected Science Citation links to cited references.
+ show more info
Access Note: Available evenings after 5:00 and weekends. Password access available at the Reference Desk in EKU Libraries. Students in some Chemistry classes may be assigned temporary passwords (see Chemistry Instructor).
CCH Internet Employment Safety & Health
A research tool for legal consel and safety professionals who need coverage of the workplace regulations issued by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). Includes full text of laws, standards, and regulations issued by OSHA; explanations and analysis provided by CCH; the OSHA Field Inspection Reference Manual; and state laws and summaries.
+ show more info
Access Note: Users must register a personal login consisting of their email address and a password of their choosing.
CCH Internet Tax Research Network
Contains the entire Library of CCH tax resources, including federal and state tax reporters for all 50 states, tax guides, supporting documentation and in-depth coverage of tax issues.
+ show more info
Access Note: Users must register a personal login consisting of their email address and a password of their choosing.
Chaucer Bibliography Online
Includes materials from the "Annotated Chaucer Bibliography" published annually in "Studies in the Age of Chaucer;" indexes articles back to 1975.
+ show more info
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
Provides more than 250,000 reviews of children’s books, multimedia, audio books, etc. from 34 sources including The ALAN Review, Booklist, The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, CCBC Choices, The Five Owls, The Horn Book Magazine--Audio Reviews, The Horn Book Guide, Inis, KIRKUS Reviews, KLIATT, Library Media Connections, Resource Links and VOYA. National, state and international awards back to the first Newbery in 1922 and more than 60 best books lists, plus all state reading lists are included and updated annually. Curriculum Tools are also part of the database.
+ show more info
Choice Reviews Online
Premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and internet resources of interest to those in higher education
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 4 simultaneous users.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. It also provides indexing for over 2,950 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
+ show more info
Cochrane Library
Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
+ show more info
Communications and Mass Media
Full text coverage of over 285 journals plus indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals in areas related to communications and mass media. Also includes a Communication Thesaurus, comprehensive reference browsing, and over 3,000 author profiles that include biographical data and bibliographic information.
+ show more info
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI)
Provides access to global information on women in over 150 countries; Indexes books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets.
+ show more info
Counseling and Therapy in Video
This new online collection of streaming videos (added August 2009) applies to the disciplines of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
+ show more info
CQ Researcher
Index to analysis on issues in the news.
+ show more info
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Abstracts in criminal justice periodicals; Areas covered include trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing.
+ show more info
Criminal Justice Periodicals Index (CJPI)
Index and full text of articles in criminal justice periodicals
+ show more info
Criminology : A SAGE Full-text Collection (SAGE Journals Online)
Includes the full-text of 15 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 4,100 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
+ show more info
Criminology: A SAGE Full-text Collection (CSA)
Includes the full-text of 15 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 4,100 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
+ show more info
Access Note: As of December 2009, Criminology will no longer be available through CSA. It will only be available through SAGE Journals Online.
CSA Illumina
Abstract and full text databases in a variety of fields.
+ show more info
Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi)
Index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. It contains extensive descriptions of 4,100+ literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other reports from over 200+ different publications and organizations and 147 university dance programs.
+ show more info
Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus (electronic) is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
+ show more info
Dissertation Abstracts
Index to U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses. Coverage includes: basic data for 1861 to present; dissertation abstracts since 1980; and thesis abstracts since 1988.
+ show more info
Dissertations & Theses Full Text
Includes 2.4 million dissertation and thesis citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database, added to EKU Library's collection in December 2008, offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
+ show more info
ebrary
A collection of ebooks on a wide variety of subjects.
+ show more info
Access Note: For full functionality (printing, copying & pasting, etc.) you will need to download the ebrary reader.
EBSCO Animals
Topics relating to animals; indexing, abstracts and full text describing nature and habitat of animals; equivalent to print Encyclopedia of Animals
+ show more info
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
Access to electronic journals for which EKU has print journals
+ show more info
EBSCOhost Web
Group of multi-disciplinary and subject databases covering all subject areas.
+ show more info
EconLit with Full Text
Contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for more than 400 journals. Covers fields including economics, capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics.
+ show more info
Education Full Text
Includes comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Contains abstracting and indexing coverage for over 475 periodicals included in Education Index as well as the full text of over 150 periodicals.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 20 simultaneous users – please logoff when through with session.
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
This database includes the full text of 36 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 52,900 articles and up to 90 years of backfiles; covers such subjects as Adult and Continuing Education, Assessment, Multilingual Education, Content Areas, Curriculum, Early Childhood Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Educational Psychology, Elementary and Primary Education, Family and Community, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Middle School Education, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Philosophy of Education, Professional Development, Research Methods and Evaluation, School Counseling, School Finance and Budgeting, School Funding, School Health, School Law, School Reform, Special Education and Gifted Education, Standards, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods, Technology, Theory of Education, and Vocational Education.
+ show more info
Educational Administration Abstracts
Educational Administration Abstracts includes over 60,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
+ show more info
Effective Schools Research Link
Contains 1,500 research abstracts on topics ranging from strategies that work in the classroom to what works at the district level, and everything in between. An additional 72 abstracts are added each year. Coverage extends back to 1986.
+ show more info
Access Note: Requires login information--ask at the library desk for information.
eHRAF World Cultures
A Collection of research documents on world cultures and anthropology in Full Text; equivalent to Human Relations Area File
+ show more info
ERIC (CSA)
Index to journal articles & reports in education. NOTE: EBSCOhost Web has links to ERIC Document Reproduction Service Full Text Documents (ED400000- ). Equivalent or Related Print Source: CIJE; RIE (Resources in Education)
+ show more info
ERIC (EBSCOHost Web)
Index to journal articles & reports in education. NOTE: EBSCOhost Web has links to ERIC Document Reproduction Service Full Text Documents (ED400000- ). Equivalent or Related Print Source: CIJE; RIE (Resources in Education)
+ show more info
Europa World Plus
Online version of the "Europa World Year Book" and the nine-volume "Regional Surveys of the World" series, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
+ show more info
Films on Demand
Streaming videos in a variety of subject areas.
+ show more info
FIREDOC
Online bibliographic database to a collection of 50,000 documents covering fire research
+ show more info
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Encyclopedic entries searchable by subject or keyword; equivalent to print Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
+ show more info
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Searchable electronic book collection that includes subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides covering many subject disciplines.
+ show more info
General Science Index
Citation index in the sciences; covers a broad range of fields in general interest periodicals and specialized journals as well
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
GEOBASE
Worldwide literature on geography and geology
+ show more info
GeoRef
Guide to materials in geology & earth sciences; equivalent to print Bibliography and Index of Geology
+ show more info
Grolier Online
Online versions of the "Encyclopedia America", "Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia", and "The New Book of Knowledge". Also includes several dictionaries, a thesaurus, an interactive world atlas, and resources for educators.
+ show more info
Health Sciences: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 6,000 articles.
+ show more info
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection (CSA)
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 6,000 articles.
+ show more info
Access Note: As of December 2009, Health Sciences will no longer be available through CSA. It will only be available through SAGE Journals Online.
Health Source Consumer Edition
Index to health topics in the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health; includes health periodicals, pamphlets, and books
+ show more info
Helminthological Abstracts (See "CABI Online")
Available online through "CABI Online". Covers taxonomy, biology, pathology, immunology, diagnosis, epidemiology, treatment and control of all helminths (Monogenea, Aspidogastrea, Digenea, Cestoda, Acanthocephala, Nematoda) parasitic in man and domestic and wild animals.
+ show more info
Historical Abstracts
Abstracts of journal articles and book reviews in World History
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users – please close window when through with session.
History Cooperative
The History Cooperative is a pioneering nonprofit humanities resource offering top-level online history scholarship.
+ show more info
Homeland Security Digital Library
Searchable collection of important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations, local agencies and state agencies.
+ show more info
Access Note: For off-campus access, students will need to create a free account using their EKU email address in order to login. More information about logging in can be found here.
Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF Collection of Ethnography)
A Collection of research documents on world cultures and anthropology in Full Text; equivalent to Human Relations Area File
+ show more info
Informa Healthcare
Search the pharmaceutical, life science and medical journal titles published by Informa Healthcare. EKU subscribes to "Issues in Comprehensive Nursing," "Issues in Mental Health Nursing," "Occupational Therapy in Health Care," "Physical and Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics," "Physical and Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics," and "The American Journal of Drug and Alcohol Abuse."
+ show more info
Access Note: Full text available for the journals listed above. Request all other articles through ILLIAD.
Informaworld
Search a collection of journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge covering the sciences, technology, social science, and humanities fields.
+ show more info
Access Note: Some full text available. Request all other articles through ILLIAD.
InfoSci-OnlineLearning
5,000+ authoritative studies on the state of knowledge and practice on instructional technology, distance learning, and other educational applications of technology.
+ show more info
Ingenta
Indexing and search alert service for more than 20,000 periodicals. Includes some full text.
+ show more info
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
This database offers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.
+ show more info
IOPscience
Includes the full text for over 70 journals published by IOP. Includes scientific, technical, and medical content
+ show more info
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books.
+ show more info
Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
The Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an online resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse.
+ show more info
Journals@OVID
Includes the full text of select EKU subscribed nursing journals: American Journal of Nursing (AJN), American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Critical Care Nursing Quarterly, Family & Community Health, Health Care Management Review, Holistic Nursing Practice, Home Healthcare Nurse, Infants & Young Children, Journal of Nervous & Mental Disease, Journal of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Nurse Educator, Nursing Administration Quarterly, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!, Nursing Management, and Topics in Language Disorders. The database also includes bibliographic information for hundreds of non-subscribed scientific, technical, and medical journals.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 15 simultaneous users – please logoff when through with session. Select “Your Journals@Ovid” to search only the EKU subscribed journals. Select “Journals@Ovid Full Text” to search the entire database.
JSTOR
Full-text articles for journals covering a broad range of subjects in Arts & Sciences including many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science and sociology, ecology, mathematics and statistics, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, law, psychology, public policy and administration, business, and education
+ show more info
Kentuckiana Digital Library
Access to online finding aids and digitized materials from archival collections across the state of Kentucky.
+ show more info
Kentucky Virtual Library (KyVL)
Collection of general and subject databases.
+ show more info
LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help its users succeed on academic or licensing tests. Includes scoring, complete answer explanations, and individualized analyses of results.
+ show more info
Access Note: In order to take the tests, you must register for a personal account. Simply click on the "Register" button under "New User," and then create a personal login and password that you can remember. If logging in from off campus, you must first use your EKU email login/password when prompted, and then you'll need to login with your LearningExpress personalized login and password.
Library Literature & Information Science
Citation index in the library and information sciences; covers English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, and over 300 books per year
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
+ show more info
Life Sciences Collection : JSTOR
The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences. Includes the Biological Sciences Collection and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
+ show more info
Literature Criticism Online
Includes complete, searchable backfiles for 6 of the Gale “Literature Criticism” book series: Contemporary, 20th Century, 19th Century, Shakespeare, Poetry, and Short Stories.
+ show more info
Literature Resources from Gale
A comprehensive online literary site that includes books, journals, and essays covering biographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users.
MAS FullTEXT Ultra School Edition
Magazine article summaries and general index for general interest and current events magazines, and general reference sources; includes Magill's Book Reviews, CIA World Factbook, Essential Documents in American History, news weeklies, New York Times, USA Today; school edition, K-12
+ show more info
MasterFile Premier
Index to periodical articles on subjects including general reference, business, health; includes Magill's Book Reviews, CIA World Factbook, Essential Documents in American History, journals, magazines, and newspapers
+ show more info
MathSciNet
Abstracts and reviews of research literature in mathematics, computer science, statistics; includes print sources Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications
+ show more info
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost Web)
Index to articles in medical journals; equivalent to print Index Medicus, International Nursing Index
+ show more info
MEDLINE (Web of Knowledge)
Index to articles in medical journals; equivalent to print Index Medicus, International Nursing Index
+ show more info
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
+ show more info
Mergent Online
Provides global business and financial information on publicly traded companies and fixed income securities.
+ show more info
Micromedex Healthcare Series
Includes unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to nursing students - request login information from nursing faculty.
Middle Search Plus Online
Articles, general reference sources, and book reviews for general interest and current events for middle and junior high school students
+ show more info
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals. Includes editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
+ show more info
MLA International Bibliography
Provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics; annually indexes over 66,000 books and articles. Equivalent to the print MLA International Bibliography
+ show more info
Music Index Online
Citation index for music periodical literature; search by keyword or cited author/cited reference; search limiters optional
+ show more info
Music-in-Print Series
Includes the Music-In-Print volumes on Sacred Choral, Secular Choral, Classical Vocal, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Organ and Piano Music In Print. The series also includes a collection entitled Miscellaneous Music In Print which includes Band, Brass, Handbell, Percussion and Harp music. Please note that the base volume of String Music In Print (1973) is not available online.
+ show more info
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Contains summaries of over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes.
+ show more info
National Fire Codes Online
Access to the complete set of the nearly 300 NFPA® codes and standards, including NFPA 101®: Life Safety Code®, NFPA 72®: National Fire Alarm Code®, NFPA 13: Installation of Sprinkler Systems, NFPA 70®: National Electrical Code®, NFPA 70E®: Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace®, that define fire, electrical, and building safety today.
+ show more info
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. It also includes world music, jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 23,990 CDs with more than 341,300 tracks.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
Web version of criminal justice publications from U.S. Justice Department; more than 170,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research; collection of 7,000+ full-text publications in NCJRS Virtual Library
+ show more info
NETC LRC Online Card Catalog
The Online Card Catalog (OCC) is the index that provides bibliographic access only to the collection of the National Emergency Training Center's (NETC) Learning Resource Center (LRC).
+ show more info
NetLibrary
A collection of electronic books covering numerous subject disciplines.
Important tips and information about NetLibrary can be found here.
+ show more info
Access Note: Each ebook in NetLibrary has a limit of 1 user at a time.
New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
The New York Times (1851-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
+ show more info
News Abstracts
Newspaper abstracts from more than 25 national and regional newspapers
+ show more info
Newsbank
Access World News contains the full-text content of over 700 local and regional newspapers. Also included is an electronic image edition of the New York Times. This is an exact digital reproduction of the print editions, with keyword searching and ability to browse the full publication.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access World News is available both on-campus and off-campus. The electronic image editions are NOT accessible off-campus.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers
+ show more info
Notable Kentucky African Americans Database
The Notable Kentucky African Americans Database (NKAA) has been developed as a finding aid to bring together a brief description of pertinent names, places, and events, and to list the sources where additional information may be found.
+ show more info
NoveList
Readers' advisory for fiction, and links to other home pages and fiction related web sites; includes reviews and descriptions; reviews from Library Journal, Publisher's Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus from 1996-
+ show more info
Nutrition Abstracts (See "CABI Online")
Available online as "Global Health" (part of the CABI database) this database provides subscribers with comprehensive coverage of research dedicated to promoting health worldwide.
+ show more info
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers social issues such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, and Terrorism. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, primary source documents, images, and a collection of subject-indexed Web sites.
+ show more info
Ovid
Includes the full text of select EKU subscribed nursing journals (select “Your Journals@Ovid” to search only the EKU subscribed journals). The database also includes bibliographic information for hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals (select “Journals@Ovid Full Text” to search the entire database)
+ show more info
Access Note: Access limited to 15 simultaneous users – please logoff when through with session so that others may access the database.
Oxford Music Online
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music
+ show more info
Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes access to the Oxford Companions Series.
+ show more info
Oxford Scholarship Online - Social Work Collection
The award-winning social work eBook collection at Oxford, added January 2009, reflects the wide range of the field and the depth of its growing body of research. Strengths in broad areas of the discipline, such as child welfare and mental health, are supported by a particular focus on research methods and evidence-based practice.
+ show more info
PILOTS
The PILOTS database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events
+ show more info
Play Index
Search over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title, author, subject, genre, cast type, and more.
+ show more info
Access Note: Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Praeger Security International Online (PSIO)
PSIO provides information on security and terrorism. All books published by Praeger Security International are included in the database, as well as news feeds and other documents related to international security, defense and foreign policy, regional security, military history, and terrorism.
+ show more info
Primary Search
Magazine articles, pamphlets and reference sources for elementary schools; includes K-12 magazines, documents of American History database, CIA World Factbook, and other reference sources
+ show more info
ProjectMUSE
Collection of electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences
+ show more info
ProQuest Newspapers
National Newspapers Core is a single source for coverage of the nation's leading newspapers. National Newspapers Core includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Researchers can find the information they need quickly because of the database's detailed indexing.
+ show more info
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
+ show more info
PsychiatryOnline
This new database (added August 2009) features the DSM-IV, including the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Casebook, and Treatment Companion. It also includes the full text of journals such as The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, Psychosomatics, and Academic Psychiatry. Finally, it includes a number of additional resources such as textbooks, APA practice guidelines, self-assessment tools for board certification, medication information handouts, and clinical & research news.
+ show more info
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Index to specialized collection of journal articles in the behavioral sciences
+ show more info
PsycINFO
Abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and dissertations; from American Psychological Association
+ show more info
Regional Business News
Full text coverage for regional business publications; updated daily
+ show more info
Research Starters - Business
Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts.
+ show more info
Access Note: This is available on a trial basis until June 30, 2009.
Research Starters - Education
Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts.
+ show more info
Access Note: Trial database from EBSCO - available through June 30, 2009.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Abstracts of Music Literature; equivalent to print RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
+ show more info
Royal Society of Chemistry
Index to journal and book publications of the Royal Society of Chemistry
+ show more info
Safari Tech Books Online
Searchable collection of technical books. To browse titles owned by EKU, in the Search box, click on “My Bookshelf” and then hit the blue "Go" button.
+ show more info
Access Note: This resource is available to 2 simultaneous users only.
Sage Journals Online
Online portal for all EKU subscribed Sage journals.
+ show more info
Science Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in 3,700 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals.
+ show more info
ScienceDirect
Full text collection of online science and social science journals.
+ show more info
Serials Directory
Index to publishing information for journals and magazines; extensive coverage of serial titles
+ show more info
SIRS Researcher
Index of articles on social, scientific, economic and political issues worldwide
+ show more info
Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals.
+ show more info
Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
+ show more info
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive bibliographic coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals.
+ show more info
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts of journal articles in sociology and related fields
+ show more info
Sociological Collection
Index to specialized collection of journal articles in sociology and culture
+ show more info
SPORTDiscus
Journal articles, books, dissertations on sports, recreation, fitness, and physical education
+ show more info
Access Note: Access restricted to 4 simultaneous users.
Stat-USA
Statistical data from U.S. Government sources
+ show more info
Access Note: Available in Crabbe Library in Documents and Reference; password restricted
Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
+ show more info
Wall Street Journal
Provides full-text coverage back to Jan. 2, 1984 of this international and national newspaper with a business and financial perspective.
+ show more info
Walt Whitman Archive
The Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers. His many notebooks, manuscript fragments, prose essays, letters, and voluminous journalistic articles all offer key cultural and biographical contexts for his poetry. The Archive sets out to incorporate as much of this material as possible, drawing on the resources of libraries and collections from around the United States and around the world.
+ show more info
Web of Knowledge
Simultaneously searches 5 databases: CAB Abstracts, Medline, Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Zoological Record.
+ show more info
Westlaw Campus Research
Full text coverage of thousands of news databases arranged geographically and topically, hundreds of newswires as well as business, trade, and professional publications. Full text access to federal and state case and statutory law, and European Union information.
+ show more info
Wiley InterScience
Full text journal collection.
+ show more info
Women Writers Online
Textbase of the Women Writers Project, Brown University; collection of text covering 1400-1850
+ show more info
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide
+ show more info
WorldCat.org
Freely available website that includes records for the holdings (databases, books, journals, sound recordings, videos, etc.) of libraries worldwide.
+ show more info
Worldscope
Financial reports on companies worldwide
+ show more info
Zoological Record
Index to books and journals in Zoology
+ show more info
 

Looking for something else?  To find an individual eJournal title, search our eJournal list. For print indexes, books, CDs, and other non-online resources, search our catalog.

 

Admin